Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon April 2017: Wrap Up

I did it! I made it through another 24 Hour Readathon!! I fell asleep briefly at a couple different points, but never for longer than 15 minutes at a time. Aaaaand the readathon ended 4 hours ago, and I’m still awake….

The readathon ends at 7AM for me so I usually dive face first into bed as soon as it’s over and don’t resurface until at least noon, but I’m strangely not tired today. I’m sure I’ll crash really early tonight to make up for it.

Read:

C-qPTi4U0AA-4r3

Play– 52 pages (Started this one before the readathon and just needed to finish it up)
Flying Lessons– 216 pages
Dan + Phil Go Outside– 224 pages
Lead– 332 pages
Tomboy– 255 pages
Roller Girl– 130 pages
The Alloy of Law– 325 pages
Username: Evie– 182 pages
How To Be A Normal Person– 202 pages (~75% complete)

7 books read from start to finish, 9 books read total
1,918 pages read total
1,257 novel pages read
22 of 24 hours read

small leaves devider

Closing Survey

1. Which hour was most daunting for you? As with previous years, Hours 21-22 were the toughest for me.  Last year I gave up at Hour 23, but this time I accidentally dozed on and off for about 40 minutes total at Hour 21 and then managed to power through the final few hours.
2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a reader engaged for next year? For fantasy fans, I highly recommend checking out the Graphic Audio version of one of Brandon Sanderson’s books. They’re really expensive but luckily I’ve been able to access them through the library, and they’re fantastic for readathons. If you’re not familiar with Graphic Audio audiobooks, they’re produced to bring the book to life that is so different from any other audiobook you’ve listened to before. There is background music, a narrator, different voice actors for every character, and sound effects. They’re really incredible.  I’ve listened to Mistborn books 2-4 this way, and I don’t think I’ll ever go back to reading his books. I believe all his books available through as Graphic Audio books now. That was a really long winded answer, sorry….
3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next season? Twitter sprints! If they took place this year in the tag, I completely missed them. I find them really motivating, especially when the sprint host(s) ask questions and engage with the readers.
4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? To be honest, I don’t think I can even answer that this year. I didn’t participate in any of the challenges and barely interacted with people on social media outside of my own posts. I was really engaged in the books I was reading and didn’t find myself needing to jump onto social media in order to take quick breaks.  My readathon was pretty solitary this year but that’s okay!
5. How many books did you read? 7 from start to finish, 75% completed with an 8th book, and completed one I’d started prior to the readathon
6. What were the names of the books you read? See above 🙂
7. Which book did you enjoy most? Roller Girl!
8. Which did you enjoy least? Username: Evie
9. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?  I plan to participate in the next April readathon. The fall one usually doesn’t work for me because it’s around the same time as parent-teacher conferences and I’m always really busy at work then.

yellow grey divider flippedyellow grey divider

2 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon April 2017: Wrap Up

  1. OOoooOOO those audio books sound like something I may actually like. I attempt audio books when I feel like I have “too much” going on to sit and actually read but I rarely enjoy them the same way I do reading traditionally. Definitely going to see if my library has those though!

    Like

Leave a comment