Love-A-Thon 2017 Mix & Match: Crafts + Audiobooks

If this is your first time hearing about it, check out my first post with all the details about Love-A-Thon.

I’m super behind on all the blogging posts and activities because I signed up late and had to volunteer at a co-op event this morning. I’m attempting to catch up on all the posts that interest me, so bear with me while I get everything written and shared.  Hopefully people still have some interest in checking out my late posts. Better late than never, right?

We all love books, but there are other things we’re passionate about too! All you’ve got to do is mash-up a non-bookish hobby/passion/talent/fandom with your bookish life. Do it through photos, collages, or videos. Get as creative as you’d like to!

giphy-1

If you follow me on social media, it’s probably no secret that I love all things crafty and creative.  I love coloring books, crochet, cross stitch, complicated dot-to-dot books, and my newest love: diamond painting. Because I’m constantly working on fun projects like this, it used to really cut into my reading time. That is, until I started listening to loads of audiobooks! I love popping on an audiobook at 2x and flying through it while I’m hunched over my diamond painting canvas or lounging on the couch working on a crochet project.  Many of the crafty things I love are fairly mindless, so I often feel like I focus even more on the audiobooks than I would have if I’d read a physical copy. Keep reading to check out some books I highly recommend checking out while crafting away.

giphy

small leaves devider

33024376

 

I love comedian memoirs, and this one is a new favorite. Memoirs are so much more impactful when read by the author, and this one was no different. I learned so much about South African apartheid and what growing up during that time was like for Trevor. I really want to read more books about South Africa now.

22840421

I picked My Lady Jane up on a whim after I kept hearing how funny it was. To be honest, I didn’t have high expectations but I ended up absolutely loving it. It was exactly my kind of humor: dry and sarcastic. And the strong feminism throughout was an expected lovely bonus.

6547260

I highly highly recommend checking out the Graphic Audio version of the Mistborn trilogy if you are lucky enough to get your hands on them. If you’re not familiar with Graphic Audio, they publish audiobook recordings that are complete masterpieces. Their tagline is “a movie in your mind.” They go all out with different voice actors for every character (including a narrator), background noises, and mood music to fit each scene. They’re absolutely incredible.  GA seems to be slowly recording Brandon Sanderson’s entire back catalog, so if you get through these, there are plenty more to choose from.

25786523

 

To be honest, I doubt I would have picked up this book at all if someone hadn’t recommended it to me during December’s Diversity Bingo.  I don’t typically read a lot of books set in space, but I was intrigued at the promise of a cast of characters that were diverse in race, gender, sexuality, and even species.  I was able to get it on audiobook from my library and after a slightly slow start, really enjoyed it.

3

 

Audiobooks are a great way to reread old favorites, and the Harry Potter audiobooks are things of legend anyway.  I’ve been slowly working my way through a series reread again, and I’ve been going back and forth between the physical and audiobooks.  Surprisingly, as much as I love Harry Potter, this has been my first experience with the audiobooks!

16278318

 

Ready Player One is one of my favorite books, and Wil Wheaton is probably my favorite audiobook narrator, so I knew I had to check this one out as soon as I heard Wil would be narrating it.  I wasn’t disappointed, and although this book has had mixed reviews, I completely loved it and I think that has a lot to do with the fact that I experienced it as an audiobook.

yellow grey divider flippedyellow grey divider

Do you listen to audiobooks while doing crafts or other creative hobbies? What audiobooks do you love? 

 

2 thoughts on “Love-A-Thon 2017 Mix & Match: Crafts + Audiobooks

Leave a Reply

