Love-A-Thon 2017: Introduction

It’s Love-A-Thon weekend! Somehow I completely missed (probably just forgot) the announcement this year, so I just signed-up a couple minutes ago and now I’m frantically trying to get this post out before bed!

If you haven’t heard of the Love-A-Thon before, you can find out more about it here (you can still sign up today, 2/18!). And check out this post for today’s Love-A-Thon schedule and the current list of participants. This year’s hosts are Alexa of Alexa Loves BooksCee of The Novel HermitKristin of Super Space Chick & Mel of The Daily Prophecy.

The first thing on the agenda is an introduction post! If you want to read my 2016 questionnaire, you can do that here. And now on to this year’s questions!

small leaves devider

An Introduction to You and Your Blog.

What’s your name? Where in the world are you blogging from?

Hiiii I’m Amber and I’m blogging from the Midwest, USA.

Tell us your history with reading. Were you always a reader? Were you a reluctant reader? Was there a book that convinced you to become a reader?

giphy-1

I’ve been a reader for my entire life. My parents read to me every single night before bed when I was a kid, and that’s what started my love for books and reading.

How did you get involved in the online book community?

I randomly stumbled across a booktube video a few years ago, and followed one or two people for awhile before I discovered the huge online book community. I started my blog originally as a place to house the challenge posts for readathons I was frequently participating in at the time.

How did you choose your primary platform (blog, Instagram, YouTube, etc)? How did you come up with your blog name?

I knew I’d probably never feel comfortable using booktube as a creator, and I was very comfortable blogging from my livejournal days, so it was an easy choice for me.  As for my blog name, I was a library page in high school through college so I basically lived in the book stacks for six years.

giphy-2

What’s your favorite thing about the online book community?

Meeting and talking with other people about books and reading. I don’t have any friends in my real life who are as passionate about books as me, so it’s great to have people to talk to online who get it.

giphy-3

What sort of posts can readers expect from you?

I don’t post many reviews at all anymore unless they’re part of a blog tour or for an ARC I requested. They’re just not my favorite kind of post. I love posting about diverse reads and any post that combines books with music, like my book soundtracks.

 

 

arrow divider

 

Favorites. 

Favorite food? Beverage?

Cheesy garlic breadsticks, panang curry, green juice (kale+apple+lemon is my fave)

Favorite color?

turquoise and purple

Favorite things to do apart from reading?

 

I looooove adult coloring books and all kinds of crafty stuff: diamond painting, crocheting, dot to dot, cross stitch, paint by number, and puzzles. Hopefully I can add sewing to that list this year. I also really enjoy hiking but I only get to do that when I travel because it’s very flat where I live.

15219378_10103965404434728_6997533090004759823_n

Favorite tv shows?

Shadowhunters, Santa Clarita Diet, Speechless, Superstore, Life in Pieces, Blackish, Broad City, Lucifer, The Blindspot, The Night Shift. I also love all the DC Comics shows (Arrow, The Flash, etc) but I’ve been watching them on Netflix so I’m not caught up on the current seasons.

Favorite movies?

Marvel movies!! especially anything with Bucky Barnes/The Winter Soldier in it, Shaun of the Dead, Totoro, Pride, Grind, Sleeping with Other People, Transformers

 

Favorite musical artists?

Tom Petty, Years & Years, Troye Sivan, Hailee Steinfeld, One Direction, Hedley, The 1975, Twenty One Pilots, Pentatonix, 5 Seconds of Summer, Andy Grammer, Ed Sheeran, Dan & Shay

Favorite places to shop?

Amazon, Michaels, Clothes Mentor, Stuff Etc. (a local resale store that’s the only place in town to buy used books)

 

arrow divider

Book Talk.

Favorite childhood books?

Ramona Quimby was my jam. I wrote a whole blog post about my childhood favorites last year.

giphy

Your Hogwarts house?

Hufflepuff!

Favorite books read in the last five years?

Underrated book, series or author you love?

I love the Ashfall books, a post-apocalyptic series about the eruption of the Yellowstone supervolcano. They take place in the area where I live and grew up, and it’s fascinating to read about how much a volcano eruption across the country can impact people in the Midwest.

A book you want to see made into a film or tv show?

My answer would be the Mistborn trilogy or A Court of Thorns and Roses series, but I think both have had their rights optioned so fingers crossed that at least one of them makes it into development.

Books you want to read in 2017?

There are so many great ones coming out this year. These are some that I’m especially excited for:

yellow grey divider flippedyellow grey divider

Let me know if you’re participating this year! 

3 thoughts on “Love-A-Thon 2017: Introduction

  1. Hello! I’m so glad you could join in on the Love-a-Thon. Your crafty stuff is lovely, and I definitely share your love of cheesy garlic breadsticks. And I joined the community for a similar reason! It’s nice to have made friends who understand and support my flailing over books 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

