Diversity December Bingo: My Ambitious TBR #diversitydecbingo

screen-shot-2016-12-03-at-10-09-37-am

Yesterday I mentioned that I’m participating in a reading challenge this month, and it’s Diversity December Bingo! I’m so so excited about this one. I’ve been making a conscious effort to diversify my reading, so this challenge fits in perfectly with that goal.  Most people are covering a 5-square line from the card. I’m being overly ambitious and attempting to complete as much of the card as possible. I’m hoping to read books to cover most of the 25 categories.

small leaves devider

screen-shot-2016-12-03-at-10-12-11-am

There will be an INTL giveaway at the end of the month for anyone who’s completed a 5-square line. Find out more about Diversity December Bingo by checking out Jananee’s post here or by following along on the #diversitydecbingo hashtag on Twitter.

arrow divider

My TBR:

I’ve picked out a book (or two or three) for each of the categories, but this TBR is tentative. I have ARCs of 6 of these that I need to get to, so this challenge is motivating me to pick those up too.  If I get any diverse books in the mail this month, I may change it up to read some of those.

Non-Western Cultural Fantasy: The Wrath & The Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

Non-binary Main Character: The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers**

Refugee Main Character: The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini**

PoC Superheroes: Not Your Sidekick by C.B. Lee

Chronic Pain Sufferers: Far From You by Tess Sharpe

small leaves devider

Demisexual Main Character: Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld

Muslim Main Character: Zayn by Zayn Malik (if the library orders my request in time) or Muslim Girl: A Coming of Age Tale by Amani Al-Khatahtbeh

Trans Main Character: A Boy Called Cin by Cecil Wilde

Diverse Non-fiction: Born a Crime by Trevor Noah

PoC or Interracial M/M: A Hundred Thousand Words by Nyrae Dawn

small leaves devider

Mental Health Awareness: Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne

Asian Main Character: Trade Me (Cyclone #1) by Courtney Milan

Free Space: Just Visiting by Dahlia Adler (Mexican America MC)

Own Voices: History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

Non-Western (real world) Setting: A Time to Dance by Padma Venkatraman or When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon (if I get approved on Edelweiss)

small leaves devider

PoC on Book Cover: Hold Me (Cyclone #2) by Courtney Milan

PoC with Natural Hair: This Side of Home by Renée Watson

Disabled Main Character: Love and First Sight by Josh Sundquist

SFF w/LGBTQIA+ Main Character: Otherbound by Corinne Duyvis

Pansexual Main Character: Timekeeper by Tara Sim

small leaves devider

Indigenous Main Character: The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf by Ambelin Kwaymullina

F/F Romance: Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Jaye Robin Brown or Complementary & Acute by Ella Lyons

Biracial Main Character: Keeping Her Secret by Sarah Nicolas

Neurodiversity: Marcelo in the Real World by Francisco X. Stork

Asexual or Aromantic Main Character: Of Monsters and Men by Caitlin Ricci and Running With the Pack by A.M. Burns and Caitlin Ricci

 

**I’m still looking for recommendations for these categories. If you have something you love, please let me know in the comments!

yellow grey divider flippedyellow grey divider

What’s on your TBR? What are your favorite diverse books? 

8 thoughts on “Diversity December Bingo: My Ambitious TBR #diversitydecbingo

  1. I love the TBR. It gave me my own ideas for a readathon that I am going to participate next month! 🙂 I hope you are able to read a lot as you can! I can’t wait to see what you think.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s an amazing tbr you’ve picked for yourself! I wish you the best of luck on your reading adventures!! Book bingo sounds super fun & a lot of the books you’ve picked sound really interesting! I may have to pick some of em up at some point for myself :3 Always looking to open my horizons with the books I read, even when I way to often fall into what I always read. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. There are so many good books on here! And OMG you have an ARC for When Dimple Met Rishi? I’m so jealous – I can’t wait to read that book! I absolutely adored the Cyclone books by Courtney Milan so I hope you love them as well!

    Like

    • I’m waiting on approval from Edelweiss. That’s why I had another one listed too as a backup 🙂 Really hoping I get approved because I’m dying to read it! I hadn’t heard about the Cyclone books before this month but it seems like everyone likes them, so I’m interested to see what I think.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Oooh I didn’t know that Timekeeper had a pansexual MC! I just won that book in a giveaway – definitely bumping that up on my TBR. 🙂
    Good luck getting lots of bingos! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment