Mini Reviews: #ReadProud Part 2

#READPROUD REVIEW

This is the second half of my reviews from the #ReadProud reading challenge in June, hosted by Julia Ember.  If you missed the first four reviews, check out that post here: Mini Reviews: #ReadProud Part 1.

small leaves devider

WEEK 3

Category A:  AUTHORS OF COLOUR

17290869

At Her Feet by Rebekah Weatherspoon

★★★★☆

This was really different from what I typically read. I picked it up for #ReadProud and I’m glad I stepped out of my comfort zone for it. It was an interesting read because it was so character driven.

arrow divider
Category B:  LESBIAN CONTEMPORARY 

25223500

Out on Good Behavior by Dahlia Adler

★★★★★

I loved this so much, and it might be my new favorite contemporary f/f romance. I couldn’t get enough of Sam and Frankie and I’m sad it’s over. I couldn’t put this book down from page 1. I read it in one sitting because I couldn’t wait to see what happened between our leading ladies. This was my second read from Dahlia Adler and it definitely won’t be my last.

arrow divider

WEEK 4

Category A: GAY YA

18465591

One Man Guy by Michael Barakiva

★★★★☆

Alek’s parents were so over the top that I couldn’t help but laugh. I think they were my favorite part. I really enjoyed reading about their family dynamic, and learning more about what made them act the way they do. I’m glad we got to see more from Nik, Alek’s older brother, because I was intrigued by him at the beginning and didn’t know much about him for awhile. This was definitely a character driven book, which I really liked.

arrow divider

CATEGORY B: WILDCARD

18626414

This Song Is (Not) For You by Laura Nowlin

★★★★★

I picked up this one because it has an ace character and , and it had an unexpected polyamorous aspect that I was pleasantly surprised about. I loved all three of the main characters and their individual POVs. The way the relationship played out between all three characters was so interesting. I loved seeing how they grew closer and how Ramona and Sam’s dynamic changed as they added Tom into their small friend group and band. I highly recommend picking this one up!

yellow grey divider flippedyellow grey divider

Did you participate in #ReadProud? What is your favorite LGBTQIA+ book? 

One thought on “Mini Reviews: #ReadProud Part 2

Leave a Reply

