Where Have I Been??

I can’t believe it’s been over a month since I’ve blogged! I knew I’d be busy the first half of this summer, but I didn’t intend to disappear completely. I spent most of June and the beginning of July traveling to visit family in Idaho and Indiana.  I had so much fun, and we had FANTASTIC weather so I ended up spending loads more time outside than I anticipated, soaking in the sun and exploring the sights.  I’m back home in Iowa now. I have the summer off because I’m a teacher, but I’m still working a couple days a week providing summer services to students. And I’m still house hunting, which is so so stressful. I can’t wait to be done. I’m going to try really hard to get back into my regular posting schedule soon. It’s easy to fall behind when I’m not doing it every day and when I’m constantly out playing Pokemon Go.

small leaves devider

I want to share some pictures from my beautiful vacation in Idaho so you can see what I’ve been up to! I traveled with my grandma to visit my aunt and cousins, who live just north of Boise.

IMG_7095

Shoshone Falls

IMG_7164

My cousin and I hiked up the Snake River to a famous jump site of Evel Knievel’s from the 70s.  You can barely see the parking lot where we started from, in the top middle of the picture.

There’s a really nice video about the jump here, with a gorgeous aerial view of the river. You can see the trail we hiked just north of the ramp as well.  We went to an ice cave that day too, but the pictures I took with my phone didn’t turn out very well.

IMG_7359

Climbing Inferno Cone, formed by lava rocks at Craters of the Moon National Preserve. I think we were halfway up when I took this photo. The tiny people at the bottom are my aunt and grandma.

IMG_7362

View from the top of Inferno Cone.

IMG_7424

Easily one of my favorite parts of the vacation was when my cousin and I hiked Table Rock. We started in the parking lot at Route 15, hiked all the way to the top and took Route 16 back down. It was about 4 miles in all and took much longer than we expected because we took a few wrong turns.  It also ended up being the hottest day of the entire vacation!

IMG_7425

Not a great picture, but the cross in the middle top of the pic is the top of Table Rock.

IMG_7467

And this is how big the cross is up close! Behind me was a beautiful view of Boise.

IMG_7455

Unfortunately, a few days after we hiked, some teens playing with fireworks on the hillside  started a 2,500+ acre fire that destroyed the vegetation all around Table Rock 😦

IMG_7483

Hiking back down. Much easier going this way!

IMG_7551

I love Oregon Trail history, so we took a trip one day to Oregon to visit the Oregon Trail Interpretive Center.

IMG_7593

Preserved tracks from the Oregon Trail! I majorly geeked out at this. We were able to walk alongside the trail for a mile into the valley.

IMG_7634

At Celebration Park, which is completely filled with giant river rocks from a massive flood 12,000 years ago. The force of the flood washed every living thing from the canyon into the Pacific Ocean.

IMG_7644

Petroglyphs! Created by Natives, these petroglyphs are so old that the oral traditions associated with them have been lost. No one knows what they mean, but it was really interesting to walk around in the rocks and search for them.

IMG_7660

Family photo! This railroad bridge was constructed to transport gold and silver ore, but the mines ran out of material before the rail line was completed. The bridge was used for target practice before World War II, and the steel beams are riddled with bullet holes.

yellow grey divider flippedyellow grey divider

How has your summer been so far? Relaxing or busy? 

8 thoughts on “Where Have I Been??

  1. I’m happy to hear you’re having a lovely time during your summer. Your photos are so pretty! My summer is going well. I took a vacation in Michigan in June, and that was fun and I’m planning on going to the Renaissance Faire in Wisconsin this summer (This will be my 3rd summer going. It’s soooo much fun and I highly recommend going if you haven’t and are able). Oh, you’re house hunting? I’m apartment hunting right now. I wish you all the best with that and the rest of your summer!

    Like

  2. These are incredible pictures!! Looks like a fantastic holiday 🙂

    I know the struggle with having to put blogging on a pause – but super glad you’re back! POKEMON GO IS TAKING OVER MY LIFE IT’S SO UNFAIR.

    Like

Leave a Reply

