Review: Adult Coloring Book Variety Posters #1 Illustrated by Jess Perna

REVIEW

adult_coloring_book_1

I was contacted recently by a publisher to review a new coloring book, and I jumped at the chance.  If you’ve been following me awhile, you know that I’m obsessed with coloring books. I even have an entire Amazon Wish List that is just for all the coloring books I’m interested in! I typically do a video flip-through when I review coloring books, but since all the pages are available to view online, I decided not to this time.  I’m including photos of a couple of my favorite illustrations in the book, as well as a couple of the pages I’ve colored.

 small leaves devider

About the Book:

Title: Adult Coloring Book Variety Posters #1
Illustrator: Jess Perna
Publisher: Perna Publishing
Publication date: April 2016
Size: Twenty-six 12″ x 18″ Posters

arrow divider

geisha_adult_coloring_book_t1

vintage_adult_coloring_page_t1

My Review

What I liked: 

  • This coloring book is GORGEOUS. When I received it and I flipped through all the pages, I was in awe of how pretty the art is.  I almost didn’t even want to color in it!
  • Included is a sturdy piece of cardboard to place behind the page you’re currently working on so you don’t put grooves on the next page.
  • The illustrations are only printed on one side! It’s so frustrating when I find a cool coloring book and open it up only to see it’s printed on both sides.
  • The paper is a nice quality and thickness for a variety of mediums.  I used markers on one page and there wasn’t any bleedthrough at all.  It’s 100# bright white paper, and I don’t know enough about paper to know what that means but I can tell you it’s really good quality!
  • This is one of the biggest coloring books I own, and definitely the biggest that I’ve received by mail.  It arrived in perfect condition, packaged in a flat box and covered in plastic
  • I love that the book is bound with glued edges that pull out very easily.  So many coloring books have perforated pages or staples and it can be difficult to remove a page from the book without damaging it.  I didn’t have any issue with that in this book.
  • The bottom of each page lists Illustrator: Jess Perna, Colors: _________ with a blank space to write your own name. I thought this was really fun and it’s something I’ve never seen in a coloring book before.
  • There is a huge variety in the illustrations. There are people, animals, still-life, views from cities around the world, multiple historical settings, and more!  I’ll never get tired of all the different things I can color in this book. Don’t forget that you can preview every page on the book’s website!

What I didn’t like: 

  • I had a hard time coming up with a “dislike” for this coloring book. The only think I could think of is that when I pulled out the cardboard piece, the back cover of the book started to come off. But I was able to fix that really easily with a couple pieces of packing tape on the spine and it worked like a charm.

 

 

I highly recommend checking out this adult coloring book! It’s not available on Amazon, but you can purchase it HERE on the publisher’s website.

IMG_6707POST

Sorry for the terrible photo quality of these. It’s been raining here non-stop for days so I haven’t been able to get any good lighting. I just colored the top page with Crayola markers because I wanted to see how the paper held up to markers. The bottom page is colored with Prismacolor Scholar colored pencils.

arrow divider

jess_perna_adult_coloring_book_artist

About the Author:

Jess Perna creates art in pencil, pen and ink, hand drawn digital art, charcoals, fine art oils, watercolors and markers.  He has been drawing and painting  since he was 5 years old and received his first commission for a magazine cover at age 11. He has illustrated 90 published children’s picture and coloring books, magazine and book covers, stories, t-shirt and website ad logos, cable TV ads, newspapers ads, greeting cards, print advertisements, retail displays, court room evidence, brochures, business cards, quilt designs, postcards, board  games, calendars, convention posters, cartoon art, truck wrap ads, illustrated adult coloring books, and gallery shows. He was the featured guest on cable TV in Virginia the  “Here and Now” show.  Jess appeared drawing show contestants on ABC TV’s “Dating in the Dark” 2009 and 2010.  He instructed art students in  Cartoon Illustration at Queens College in NYC for 3 years as well as tutoring private students. He earned a BFA from the School of Visual Arts in NYC and studied digital art at Palomar College, San Diego, CA.  His studio is in San Diego County, CA.

yellow grey divider flippedyellow grey divider

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. 

Leave a Reply

