Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon: Wrap Up

Screen Shot 2016-04-21 at 2.01.04 AM

small leaves devider

That’s all folks! Even though I took a 20 minute nap at Hour 19 and ended up going to bed at Hour 23, I had a really successful readathon.  I did get much more tired this year than last time, but I’m not sure what that was attributed to.  Maybe it was the fact that there were a couple days during the week when I had insomnia and didn’t get much sleep, or maybe it was all the junky food I ate (I ate much more healthy snacks last time), or maybe I’m just getting too old to stay up all night!

Here’s what I read:

IMG_6667

Kindreds Spirits by Rainbow Rowell: 62 pages
Anything Could Happen by Will Walton: 281 pages
Changes For Julie by Megan McDonald: 86 pages
Scarlett Epstein Hates it Here by Anna Breslaw: 280 pages
How to Be a Normal Person by TJ Klune: 324 pages
My Alpha and His Cake by Anna J. Phoenix: 28 pages
Summer Days and Summer Nights edited by Stephanie Perkins: 26% read,~104 pages (3/12 stories)

Total read: 6.26 books
Total pages: 1,165

I wanted to read more than I did last year (I read 1,140 novel pages last April), so I accomplished my goal! I would have been able to read even more if I’d been more productive during the final 4ish hours, but I’m really happy with my outcome.

arrow divider

End of Event Survey

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you?
    • 3AM-5AM when I was in denial that I needed to give up and go to bed, and read the same pages in my book over and over and over again because I kept falling asleep and/or was so delirious that I couldn’t comprehend what I was reading.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?
    • A lot of this comes down to personal preference, but here are some books that I read quickly, or are varied reads perfect for a readathon
      • Summer Days and Summer Nights edited by Stephanie Perkins– I didn’t finish this one during #readathon, as it was the last book I started, but anthologies are perfect for readathons because they often are written by a variety of authors and include multiple genres.
      • Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell– This was my first read and it’s super quick and fun.
      • Ashfall by Mike Mullen– Although all the books in the trilogy are over 400 pages, they’re so engaging and action packed that I easily read over 100 pages/hour while reading these.
      • Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman– This is another chunkier book, but it reads really quickly because it’s told in documents, emails, interviews, IMs and more.
      • On the Island by Tracey Garvis-Graves– I read this in one sitting. It’s a survival story about two people who get stranded on a deserted island. It’s very engaging and keeps you turning pages so you can find out what happen to them.
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next season?
    • I wish there were more opportunities for entering to win the prizes besides completing the mini-challenges, like being entered just for participating, or for doing reading sprints or for engaging on social media.
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?
    • Prepping all my food in advance really helped me to stay focused on reading
  5. How many books did you read?
    • 6 and 26% of a 7th book
  6. What were the names of the books you read?
    • See above
  7. Which book did you enjoy most?
    • How to Be a Normal Person, hands down. I absolutely LOVED it. It was one of the funniest books I’ve read in a really long time.
  8. Which did you enjoy least?
    • Changes for Julie
  9. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?
    • I’ll participate in October if it works out with my schedule. Maybe I’ll be a cheerleader next time. I didn’t interact with the other participants as much as I wanted to this round.

yellow grey divider flippedyellow grey divider

Did you make it through the entire 24 hours? What did you read during the readathon? If you didn’t participate, do you think you’d want to next time? 

2 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon: Wrap Up

  1. Pingback: Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon: Updates |

Leave a Reply

