Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon: Updates

Like with last year, I’m going to be updating my progress every hour. However, I’ll only be publishing the update every few hours so that I’m not on my computer constantly. Newest updates will be at the top. Keep checking in if you’re curious how I’m doing 🙂 If you’re updating on your blog, leave the link in the comments so I can stop by!

Follow me on snapchat at busy_living to see more updates throughout the day!

small leaves devider

Check out my wrap-up post here.

Hour 23-24: 5AM-6AM

arrow divider

Hour 22: 4AM

arrow divider

Hour 21: 3AM

arrow divider

Hour 20: 2AM

Completed the Hour 19 Challenge, to create a playlist to jam to during the readathon. My Spotify playlist is embedded in my Hour 19 notes, and it was a great way to help wake me back up.

Read 2 of the 12 stories in Summer Days and Summer Nights.

arrow divider

Hour 19: 1AM

Started Summer Days and Summer Nights.

Took a 20 minute nap because no matter how hard I tried, I couldn’t keep myself awake and alert enough to comprehend my book.

Pump Up The Jam: A #Readathon Playlist Challenge
Finally participated in a mini-challenge (besides the surveys) because I needed another distraction to keep myself awake.

arrow divider

Hour 18: 12AM

arrow divider

Hour 15-17: 9PM-11PM

Not much new to report. I’m not sure why I’m reading How to Be a Normal Person so slowly. Maybe because I’m enjoying it so much that I want to take time to appreciate every word. And I have to keep stopping to laugh.

arrow divider
Hour 14: 8PM

Hour 13: 7PM

arrow divider

Hour 12: 6PM

Mid-Event Survey:

1. What are you reading right now?
How To Be A Normal Person by T.J. Klune
2. How many books have you read so far?
2 novels and 25% finished with my 3rd & 2 novellas
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon?
Looking forward to finishing How To Be A Normal Person because I’m LOVING it
4. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those?
Only those I caused myself. Breaks to eat, take my dog outside, and a couple short breaks to waste time online (watching Buzzfeed videos, etc)
5. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far?
The time has really flown by! Last year I remember feeling like the day dragged on for so long, even though I was having fun.  Maybe it’s because I’m not participating in mini-challenges and interacting on social media as much, so I’m not documenting every single hour as it passes. 

arrow divider

Hour 11: 5PM

IMG_6660

arrow divider

Hour 10: 4PM

Warmed up some garlic cheddar dip and spent some time online while I snacked.  Didn’t get much reading done this hour.

Currently at page 82 in Anything Could Happen and 26% finished with How to Be a Normal Person. 

arrow divider

Hour 9: 3PM

IMG_1035

-from How to Be a Normal Person

arrow divider

Hour 8: 2PM

How to Be a Normal Person is SO FUNNY.

Screen Shot 2016-04-23 at 3.04.10 PM

arrow divider

Hour 7: 1PM

Starting my next read:

IMG_6657

IMG_6658

arrow divider

Hour 6: 12PM

Time for some fuel.

And a quick novella…

IMG_6656

arrow divider

Hour 5: 11AM

Finished Scarlett Epstein Hates It Here! 4 stars

arrow divider

Hour 4: 10AM

Scarlett Epstein Hates It Here – page 204

arrow divider

Hour 3: 9AM

Scarlett Epstein Hates It Here – page 127

arrow divider

Hour 2: 8AM

Made a quick breakfast, and read 61 pages of Scarlett Epstein Hates It Here. I’m really enjoying it so far!

arrow divider

Hour 1: 7AM

I read Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell and started Scarlett Epstein Hates It Here

arrow divider

Opening Meme:

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?
Cedar Falls, Iowa USA
2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?
I have a few ebooks with ace characters that I’m really interested in
3) Which snack are you most looking forward to?
I’ve been cooking snacks and meals for a couple days before this so I’m really excited about it all! I made a cashew nut cheese last night that I’m looking forward to trying. 
4) Tell us a little something about yourself!
I teach deaf and hard of hearing students, I’m on the board of directors for my local food co-op, and I love music!
5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?
I participated in the April 2015 readathon.  I want to focus on my reading more this time, and spend less time completing mini-challenges. 

yellow grey divider flippedyellow grey divider

 

 

One thought on “Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon: Updates

Leave a Reply

