Soundtrack Saturday: A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

Soundtrack Saturday

 

Soundtrack Saturday is a book meme created by Erin at The Hardcover Lover.

Here are Erin’s guidelines:

♦ You can use her image or make one of your own (I made my own)
♦ Link her somewhere in your post
♦ Create a full (10+songs) or a mini (four songs) playlist for the book of your choosing
♦ Add your name to the link-up tool on her blog so others can find and read your post
♦ Leave a comment on her blog post

small leaves devider

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

17788401

  1. Brother – Mighty Oaks
  2. Hold Me Down – Halsey
  3. Renegades – X Ambassadors
  4. Trouble – Neon Jungle
  5. Brother – NEEDTOBREATHE
  6. Bullet – Steel Train
  7. Seven Years – Mansions
  8. Young Blood – Sun Culture
  9. Hey Brother – AVICII
  10. Count On Me – Mat Kearney

Listen on Spotify 

1. Brother – Mighty Oaks
I’d follow you
To the end of the world if only you would ask me to
On and on we go, my brother
I’ve got you
Nothing to stop us now
Because we found in life what’s true
Oh my brother I’d follow you

2. Hold Me Down– Halsey
My demons are begging me to open up my mouth
I need them mechanically make the words come out
They fight me, vigorous and angry, watch them pounce
Ignite me, licking at the flames they bring about

3. Renegades – X Ambassadors 
Run away with me
Lost souls and reverie
Running wild and running free
Two kids, you and me

Long live the pioneers
Rebels and mutineers
Go forth and have no fear
Come close the end is near

4. Trouble – Neon Jungle
I don’t look for trouble,
But trouble looks for me.
And it’s been waiting around corners,
Since I was seventeen.
They say “Here comes a hurricane,
Trouble is her middle name!”

5. Brother – NEEDTOBREATHE
Brother let me be your shelter
I’ll never leave you all alone
I can be the one you call
When you’re low
Brother let me be your fortress
When the night winds are driving on
Be the one to light the way
Bring you home

6. Bullet – Steel Train
You and I both are nothing but thieves
We take what we want when we need
I had a chance for a better life
But all that I’ve known is to
Run, run, run, from a devil in disguise
Like a bullet, a bullet, a bullet into the night
We are the last generation of hope
And I wouldn’t mind if
Together we died alone

7. Seven Years – Mansions
I’ve got a long black river in the back of my head.
It’s taking me down and I am raising the dead.
But if the chemicals drift away, I guess that someday I’ll forget.
But no, I have not yet.

8. Young Blood – Sun Culture
They think
That they can take us down tonight
But I say
That I would like to see them try
We’ve got this young blood
Yeah we love just like a loaded gun
In the wake of all these things we’ve done
We take the night light
Like we’re doing ’til we die
We’ve got this young blood
Young blood
Livin’ reckless and on the run
Won’t give up if they come for us

9. Hey Brother – AVICII
Hey brother, there’s an endless road to re-discover.
[…] know the water’s sweet but blood is thicker.
Oh, if the sky comes falling down for you,
There’s nothing in this world I wouldn’t do.

What if I’m far from home?
Oh, brother I will hear you call.

10. Count On Me – Mat Kearney
One day to get it all right
Two wrong and not enough right
Three words you said in the night
Before we held the fire
High five me brother it’s amazing
Her six shooter came out blazing

You can count on me
When you cannot see
Let me spell it out
Plain and simple now
When your numbers called
Backs against the wall
Pick you up when you fall
Be there when you call

yellow grey divider flippedyellow grey divider

Have you read A Darker Shade of Magic?  What songs make you think of the book? Let me know if you find a new song you love!

2 thoughts on “Soundtrack Saturday: A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

  1. OMG! I saw NEEDTOBREATH a while ago, and I remember just thinking how great they are. 🙂

    Other than them, I haven’t listened to any of these artists! OMG. I also haven’t read the book, but I’m hoping to get to it eventually. I just have to get over my fear of it.

    Thanks for participating again, Amber! I love seeing what you come up with each week. 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Captain America Book Tag |

Leave a Reply

