Friday Reads: March 18

Friday Reads

I’m at the tail end of my spring break, so I have quite a few books I’m hoping to read this weekend to finish up a great reading week.  Here are the books on my TBR…

small leaves devider

26245084

 

Shrill: Women Are Funny, It’s Okay to Be Fat, and Feminists Don’t Have to Be Nice by Lindy West

Hailed by Lena Dunham as an “essential (and hilarious) voice for women,” Lindy West is ferociously witty and outspoken, tackling topics as varied as pop culture, social justice and body image. Her empowering work has garnered a coast-to-coast audience that eagerly awaits SHRILL, her highly-anticipated literary debut.

West has rocked readers in work published everywhere from The Guardian to GQ to This American Life. She is a catalyst for a national conversation in a world where not all stories are created equal and not every body is treated with equal respect. SHRILL is comprised of a series of essays that bravely shares her life, including her transition from quiet to feminist-out-loud, coming of age in a popular culture that is hostile to women (especially fat, funny women) and how keeping quiet is not an option for any of us.

I have around 100 pages left in this one, and I’m really surprised at how fast I’ve been flying through it.  I love non-fiction but it usually reads very slowly for me.  I’ve been loving this and reading 50-100 pages at a time so I should have no problem finishing it this weekend.

arrow divider

17700320

 

The Rule of Thoughts by James Dashner

Michael completed the Path. What he found at the end turned everything he’d ever known about his life—and the world—completely upside down.

He barely survived. But it was the only way VirtNet Security knew to find the cyber-terrorist Kaine—and to make the Sleep safe for gamers once again. And, the truth Michael discovered about Kaine is more complex than they anticipated, and more terrifying than even the worst of their fears.

Kaine is a tangent, a computer program that has become sentient. And Michael’s completing the Path was the first stage in turning Kaine’s master plan, the Mortality Doctrine, into a reality.

The Mortality Doctrine will populate Earth entirely with human bodies harboring tangent minds. Any gamer who sinks into the VirtNet risks coming out with a tangent intelligence in control of their body.

And the takeover has already begun.

I only have about 100 pages left in this one too, and depending on the ending, I may start the final book in the trilogy immediately after I finish it.

arrow divider

25666024

 

Where You’ll Find Me by Natasha Friend 

The first month of school, thirteen-year-old Anna Collette finds herself…

Dumped by her best friend, Dani, who suddenly wants to spend eighth grade “hanging out with different people.”

Deserted by her mom, who’s in the hospital recovering from a suicide attempt.

Trapped in a house with her dad, a new baby sister, and a stepmother young enough to wear her Delta Delta Delta sweatshirt with pride.

Stuck at a lunch table with Shawna the Eyebrow Plucker and Sarabeth the Irish Stepper because she has no one else to sit with.

But what if all isn’t lost? What if Anna’s mom didn’t exactly mean to leave her? What if Anna’s stepmother is cooler than she thought? What if the misfit lunch table isn’t such a bad fit after all?

With help from some unlikely sources, including a crazy girl-band talent show act, Anna just may find herself on the road to okay.

I’ve heard great things about this book and I want to read and review it soon because it was just released last week.

arrow divider

22392935This Side of Home by Renée Watson

Identical twins Nikki and Maya have been on the same page for everything—friends, school, boys and starting off their adult lives at a historically African-American college. But as their neighborhood goes from rough-and-tumble to up-and-coming, suddenly filled with pretty coffee shops and boutiques, Nikki is thrilled while Maya feels like their home is slipping away. Suddenly, the sisters who had always shared everything must confront their dissenting feelings on the importance of their ethnic and cultural identities and, in the process, learn to separate themselves from the long shadow of their identity as twins.

In her inspired YA debut, Renée Watson explores the experience of young African-American women navigating the traditions and expectations of their culture.

I received this one from my new OTSPSecretSister and I want to read it ASAP.  During the last round I vowed to keep up with all the book gifts I received each month from my OTSPSecretSister (read them before receiving the next month’s package), and I completely failed but I’m attempting it again this round! I’ve already read the other book they sent me for February, so I just need to read this one and then I’ll be caught up 🙂 I’ve heard amazing things about This Side of Home!

arrow divider

25666024

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson 

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris—Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.
Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives—the ones we’d like to pretend never happened—are in fact the ones that define us. In the #1 New York Times bestseller, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor. Chapters include: “Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel”; “A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband”; “My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking”; “And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane.” Pictures with captions (no one would believe these things without proof) accompany the text.

I started this audiobook on long drive to visit family last week, and I’m planning to continue with it on Sunday during my long drive back home.  I’ve listened to less than 10 minutes of it, but so far so good!

yellow grey divider flippedyellow grey divider

What are your reading plans for the weekend? 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s