Waiting on Wednesday: Consider by Kristy Acevedo

Waiting on Wednesday

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly feature hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights anticipated upcoming releases.

This week… Consider.

27396059Title: Consider
Series: Holo #1
Author: Kristy Acevedo
Publisher: Jolly Fish Press
Publication date: April 19, 2016
Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopian, Apocalyptic

As if Alexandra Lucas’ anxiety disorder isn’t enough, mysterious holograms suddenly appear from the sky, heralding the end of the world. They bring an ultimatum: heed the warning and step through a portal-like vertex to safety, or stay and be destroyed by a comet they say is on a collision course with earth. How’s that for senior year stress?

The holograms, claiming to be humans from the future, bring the promise of safety. But without the ability to verify their story, Alex is forced to consider what is best for her friends, her family, and herself.

To stay or to go. A decision must be made.

With the deadline of the holograms’ prophecy fast approaching, Alex feels as though she is living on a ticking time bomb, until she discovers it is much, much worse.

I hadn’t heard anything about this book until recently, when I noticed it while browsing through Goodreads giveaways. Books that address anxiety always catch my attention, and I don’t think I’ve read about it in a science fiction book yet. I want to read more science fiction this year.  It’s one of my favorite genres and last year I felt like I pushed aside a lot of interesting sci-fi books to read overhyped fantasy. I don’t want to do that again this year. I’m trying to only read books that I really want to, and not pick up something just because everything is talking about it!

yellow grey divider flippedyellow grey divider

Are you excited for Consider? What upcoming releases are you waiting on?

3 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Consider by Kristy Acevedo

  1. I haven’t heard of this before, but this looks really interesting! I love sci-fi but you really rarely see mental health being addressed in it (at least in the books that I’ve read). I’m definitely going to be keeping an eye out for this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

