Love-a-Thon 2016: Questionnaire

loveathon

2016 Book Blogger Love-a-Thon
Dates:
February 20, 12AM EST – February 22, 12AM EST
Hosted by: Alexa (Alexa Loves Books), Cee (The Novel Hermit), Hazel (Stay Bookish) & Mel (The Daily Prophecy)

small leaves devider

Hello friends, old and new! This weekend I am participating in Love-A-Thon, hosted by the lovely ladies above.  Love-A-Thon was created by Alexa, so I’ll share her explanation of the event: The Love-a-Thon is an event dedicated to spreading positivity and love. It’s time dedicated to visiting other bloggers/Instagrammers/BookTubers, leaving a comment or two, making new friends and fostering positivity among the members of our amazing community. As in the previous years, the event will include mini challenges, Twitter chats and giveaways galore!

Sounds like fun, right? Throughout the weekend, I’ll be posting responses to mini-challenges here on the blog, blog hopping like crazy, participating in Twitter chats, Bookstagram challenges, and maybe even a Booktube challenge! Be sure to follow me on social media so you don’t miss anything 🙂 If you’re not participating in Love-A-Thon, that’s okay too! I’d still love for you to leave your blog info in the comments, and I’ll stop by and say hey 🙂

QUESTIONNAIRE

  1. What’s your name? Amber!
  2. Where in the world are you blogging from? Midwest USA
  3. How did you get into blogging in the first place? I wanted a place to talk about books with people. At first my blog was just a place where I could post readathon challenges and do the occasional tag, and I just started consistently blogging and posting reviews within the past few months.
  4. How did you come up with your blog name? I was a library page for 6 years in high school and college, so I practically lived in the book stacks.  I added my name onto the end because I wanted to have my name in my blog title.
  5. What genre do you read and review the most on your blog? YA/NA Contemporary. I have less than 10 reviews so far though since I just started posting them this year so this answer doesn’t really reflect the wide range of books I read
  6. What other types of posts do you do on your blog, apart from reviews? Let’s Talk (my weekly discussion post, Readathon updates, Blitzes, Blog Tours, Monthly Wrap-Ups, Top Ten Tuesday, Teaser Tuesday, Waiting on Wednesday, Friday Reads, Stacking the Shelves, and I’m starting some Book Soundtracks very soon!
  7. Best blogging experience so far? I’ve loved getting to know so many other bloggers. Participating in OTSP Secret Sister and the Commenting 365 Challenge have both introduced me to many great bloggers and readers.
  8. Favorite thing about the blogging community? Discussing books! I don’t really have anyone outside of the internet who reads what I do, and especially someone who reads the volume that I do.  I love being able to hop on social media at any time and discuss a book with great people.
  9. Name the 5 books you’re most excited for this 2016!
    1. A Court of Mist and Fury & Throne of Glass #5 by Sarah J. Maas
    2. A Gathering of Shadows & This Savage Song by V.E./Victoria Schwab
    3. If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo
    4. Kill the Boy Band by Goldy Modavsky
    5. Walk the Edge by Katie McGarry
  10. Name the 5 books you want to read this 2016 that you didn’t get to in previous years!
    1. Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas
    2. Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
    3. Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo
    4. Cress by Marissa Meyer
    5. The Bride Wore Size 12 by Meg Cabot
  11. What’s an underrated book or series that you think everyone should read? The Reluctant Hearts series by Brighton Walsh. They’re all companion novels, think Anna and the French Kiss but New Adult.
  12. Which book boy or girl would be your book BFF? I’d get along great with Heather from the Heather Wells series and Cath from Fangirl
  13. Which book boy or girl would be your book boyfriend/girlfriend? Kai from Cinder, Baz from Carry On, Bishop from The Book of Ivy, Lila or Rhy from A Darker Shade of Magic, any of the four main characters from A Court of Thorns and Roses tbh, Levi from Fangirl
  14. Who would you recruit for your apocalypse squad (5 characters max) Baz from Carry On, Tamlin & Lucien from A Court of Thorns and Roses, Rowan from Throne of Glass, Mark from The Martian. So basically a bunch of magical people and a guy who figured out how to survive on Mars alone for over a year.  And I just realized that I picked a bunch of snarky characters who are probably going to annoy each other to death within an hour. Whoops?
  15. Apart from reading, what are your other hobbies or interests? DOGS. Dogs are my number one interest ♥♥♥♥♥.  I feel like all book bloggers are cat people but I’m allergic so… I’d have 100 dogs if I could. Okay, probably not but I’d definitely have more than one.  I have a dachshund/corgi/heeler mix named Roxie who is about 6 years old and she’s the cutest thing (pictures at the end).  I also love learning and doing crafty things: paint-by-number, knitting, cross stitch, decorating my planner/bullet journal, coloring, etc.  I’m passionate about healthy, local eating (I’m on the board of directors for my food co-op). I teach deaf and hard of hearing students, so I’m also interested in Deaf culture and American Sign Language.  I’ve been trying to teach myself Spanish for a few years too.
  16. Apart from book shopping, what else do you like shopping for? craft supplies! I also love grocery shopping. I’ve noticed recently that most people hate grocery shopping for some reason. I don’t get it!
  17. At a party, the DJ suddenly changes the song – and it’s your song. What song would be playing? You’re asking someone with over 12,000 songs in their iTunes library to choose just one? Even my “favorites” playlist has more than 30 songs on it!  Here are a few that I’ve been loving in the last couple months: for him by Troye Sivan, Missin’ You by The Summer Set Without You by Parachute, Jet Black Heart by 5 Seconds of Summer, Shine by Years & Years, Sorry (Latino Remix w/J Balvin) by Justin Bieber
  18. Pick out either a book you want turned into a film/TV show, or a film/TV show you want turned into a book. How about I pick a movie/comic character to get his own show because I need more Bucky Barnes/Sebastian Stan in my life.
  19. What would your dream library look like? It would only contain books I’m guaranteed to love so that I never waste my time with subpar reads. There would be lots of comfy seating and lots of cuddly dogs.
  20. Author you want to meet and sit down to tea with? Maybe Meg Cabot? She’s been one of my faves since I was a teenager and we’re both originally from Indiana so we’d have something to talk about outside of books too.

Here’s Roxie!:

Screen Shot 2013-08-01 at 2.43.50 PM    IMG_0993Screen Shot 2013-08-01 at 2.45.24 PM

IMG_6266

Oh, and here’s my face too I guess:
9dh4OVjI   12112189_10103033981957838_1357002266497971320_n

yellow grey divider flippedyellow grey divider

If you stuck around until the end of this long long questionnaire, you’re amazing!! If you’re participating in Love-A-Thon, I’ll probably be stopping by your blog sometime this weekend too. If you’re not participating, feel free to answer any of your favorite questions in the comments. I’d love to get to know you all better 🙂 

28 thoughts on “Love-a-Thon 2016: Questionnaire

  1. Hello Amber!

    There are a number of your answers that I agree or relate too. I’m also from the Midwest. I hope you’re getting the warm weather that I’m getting this weekend 🙂

    Your blog name is awesome! I worked in the Kids and Teens department as a Youth Services Assistant for a while and it was a blast. I did some re-shelving when things were quiet, and I found a lot of books that I didn’t know about through that.

    I’ve been seeing a lot of people having Sarah J. Maas books on their lists. I’m currently on Heir of Fire. I hope that you continue to enjoy the series!

    Cath from Fangirl would be an awesome friend. I like your choice there. And I agree that there needs to be more Sebastian Stan.

    I hope you have a great Love-A-Thon weekend!

    Like

    • It is very warm today if you consider 42º warm, which I do after the weather we’ve had for the past couple months. All our snow is finally starting to melt.

      I loved reshelving books, but it took me longer than it should have because I was always stopping to look at books I’d found ha!

      Heir of Fire is my favorite in the series so far (I haven’t read QoS yet) so I hope you’re enjoying it 🙂

      Never enough Sebastian Stan! I’m so happy that he has a 9 movie deal with Marvel!

      Like

  2. Your dog is gorgeous! I also picked Cath as my book BFF 🙂 I still haven’t read A Court of Thorns and Roses despite having owned it for months. I should get on that!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Love-A-Thon: Mini Challenge-Bingo | A Library of Sorts

  4. I’m super excited for new Sarah J. Maas this year too! I love that we’re getting two new books per year =) Also, please read Cress soon so that you can experience all the wonder that is the rest of the Lunar Chronicles. I just finished Winter at the beginning of this month, and am eyeing Stars Above to read soon. It’s such an incredible series, and totally lives up to the hype.

    Like

    • So exciting! We’re getting spoiled 🙂
      I thought I would need to reread Cinder and Scarlet because it’s been so long, but I just noticed that they’re on Recaptains so that solves that! I need to read QoS first but then I’ll definitely pick up Cress! It’s a miracle that I haven’t been spoiled for either yet so I need to hurry before it does happen.

      Like

  5. SARAH J MAAS FANS FOR THE WIN! I’m seriously obsessed with her novels. I love both the Throne of Glass series and the A Court of Thorns and Roses series, and I’m so glad we’re getting two books from her this year! CANNOT. WAIT. Also, so happy you decided to sign up! Hope you’re having fun so far 🙂 Happy Love-a-Thon!

    Like

  6. Okay… so I want to start reading NA, but I’m not too huge into all the sexy stuff and all that. Are there any NA books that you’d recommend to a newbie?

    OMG! I love grocery shopping, too! Sometimes, my sister and I go to four or five different grocery stores in a day (gotta find those sales!), and we’ve dubbed it the “Grocery Shop Hop.” Sadly two of our favorite reasonably priced stores went out of business, so we’re stuck with just a few. But we did get a Trader Joe’s recently so we’ve been going there a lot. They have cool food!

    Like

    • I’m not either and it’s so hard to find books without it! I skim read most of the more graphic stuff because it bores me, so I usually read NA faster than other books lol (and that’s also why I don’t review a lot of them that I read). I just glanced through my GR shelf, and to be honest, they pretty much all have a lot of sex scenes :/ You’re welcome to browse through my shelf though if you’d like. There are a lot of adult books that are technically NA based on the age of the characters, but aren’t marketed that way. I’ve found that those usually are less graphic than NA books.
      I recommend:
      -Heather Wells series by Meg Cabot!!!!!
      -Attachments by Rainbow Rowell (Fangirl is actually NA too!)
      -Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover doesn’t have that much I don’t think. I’ve heard that all her books published before Ugly Love are less graphic than her newer releases.
      -A Court of Thorns and Roses
      -A Darker Shade of Magic
      -Cora Carmack’s Losing It series (I can’t remember about this one actually. I’ve only read the first one but I loved her writing style)

      Grocery store hopping sounds like so much fun! I don’t have that many to choose from but I live right across the street from my favorite grocery store so I usually end up there 3-4 days a week. I’m so jealous that you have a Trader Joe’s! I love TJ’s but the closest one is a couple hours away so I hardly ever go.

      Like

  7. Hi Amber! Your pup is so cute. Her colouring is so cool. Also, let me know what you think of Cress. I really enjoyed the entire Lunar Chronicles. Like SO much.

    It’s so cool that you teach deaf and hard of hearing students. A friend of mine is an ASL interpreter. Such a cool job!

    Like

  8. Everything Victoria Schwab is a forever must readdddd. I’m so excited for her and all the books that are coming out. You def need to read Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda. It’s just so darn cute.

    HELLS YEAH AT MARK WATNEY. We’re gonna rely on him so much because he’s the man with the plan. Like you said, he did survive Mars alone, who wouldn’t want him on your crew?

    Roxie is so cute! Love the pictures!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve actually only read ADSOM by her! I love her writing but I don’t own any of her other books yet. Simon Vs. looks so so cute. I rearranged my “read soon” pile after LoveAThon to put all the books people recommended at the top and that was one of them that I picked 🙂

      Like

  9. Pingback: Love-A-Thon 2017: Introduction |

Leave a Reply

