TAG: Currently Reading

Currently Reading Tag.png

(original tag)

1. How many books do you usually read at once?

Actually actively reading, usually 2-4.  But it’s not uncommon for me to have up to 10 on my currently reading shelf. I often start books and come back to them months later.

2. If you’re reading more than one book at a time, how do you decide when to switch to reading the other book (do you read a certain amount of pages in each?)

I’m a mood reader (and I have a short attention span) so I pick a book and read it until I need a reading break. After that I’ll often move on to another book for awhile and repeat.  I’m usually reading 1-2 ebooks and 2 physical books, sometimes with an audiobook thrown in as well.

3. Do you ever switch bookmarks while you’re part way through a book?

Not unless I lose the first one.

4. Where do you keep the book you’re currently reading?

I carry them around my apartment with me so that they’re always next to me when I have a break from whatever else I’m doing.

5. What time of day do you spend the most time reading?

I do most of my reading before bed. On the weekends I read before I get up in the morning.

6. How long do you typically read for in one go?

Not that long honestly. Usually half an hour to an hour. If I’m reading multiple books I can go for longer if I switch back and forth.

7. Do you read hard covers with the dust jacket on or off?

Always off. Not so much because I’m worried they’ll get damaged but because I hate how they slide around when I’m trying to read.

8. Which position do you mainly use to read?

Laying down or reclining

9. Do you take the book you’re currently reading with you everywhere you go?

That’s why I’m always reading ebooks in addition to my physical reads! I don’t like carrying physical books around and I read my ebooks on my phone so that’s much more convenient for me when I’m on the go.  I do take physical books with me when I go to the gym though.

10. How often do you update your progress in the book you’re currently reading on goodreads?

Every 50 or so pages, or whatever I read in one sitting. For books that I’m struggling with, I update a lot more frequently.

11. Who would you like to tag?

I don’t like to tag specific people. Anyone who wants to complete the tag can do it!

yellow grey divider flippedyellow grey divider

How do YOU read books? Do you read more than one at a time like me, or do you stick to one book until you’re finished with it?  If you do the tag,  leave me a link in the comments  🙂 

5 thoughts on “TAG: Currently Reading

  1. This was a really interesting tag – honestly, I don’t understand how people can manage to juggle more than three or four books at once – I would totally malfunction!! I tend to stick to one or two books at once (perhaps three if I feel up to it, but it’s a rare occurrence!)

    I completely agree about hardbooks with jackets: they become so irritating! Like can they not just stick it to the book somehow to avoid it sliding around?!

    Awesome blog 🙂

    Like

  2. I usually read 2 at a time, although right now I’m reading 3 because 2 of them are draaaaagging. Totally agree about dust jackets! That’s why I had to switch to paperbacks after a while. Although if they’re library books, they usually have them taped which I love. lol

    My goodreads habits are the opposite of yours. If I’m not feeling a book, I don’t have anything to say and I update way less frequently. If I like it, I usually find something to gush about after every chapter. Haha.

    This was fun!

    Like

    • Dust jackets are so annoying! I prefer paperbacks for that reason. Even the ones on library books bother me because they still move around and crinkle when I’m reading.

      The reason why I update Goodreads more often when I’m reading something that’s dragging is because I like to see that % bar move up. It helps me stay motivated to keep reading when I’m not completely enjoying something.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I never though about it that way…I can totally see how that helps! Now I may just have to try it out and see if I can get these books done. 😀

    As for dust jackets: if I’m totally honest, 90% of the time I’m reading on my kindle. Haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

