Friday Reads: February 12

Friday Reads

Here are the books I’m planning to read this weekend…

small leaves devider

I’m finally reading this series! #AYEARATHON is this week, and the February theme is Romance/New Adult.  This one wasn’t even on my original TBR, but I was finally in the mood to read it.  I’m midway through the book now, and really enjoying it so far! I keep picturing Bellamy from The 100 as Arin.

17756559

The Winner’s Curse (The Winner’s Trilogy #1) by Marie Rutkoski

Winning what you want may cost you everything you love.

As a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions. One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction.

Arin’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him—with unexpected consequences. It’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin. But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined.

Set in a richly imagined new world, The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski is a story of deadly games where everything is at stake, and the gamble is whether you will keep your head or lose your heart.

arrow divider

If I don’t pick up The Winner’s Crime immediately after I finish The Winner’s Curse, here are some others from my #AYEARATHON TBR that I could potentially read:

6933600

 

A Kiss in Time by Alex Flinn 

A Sleeping Beauty retelling!

I read Beastly a couple years ago and absolutely loved it. I’ve been slowly collecting Alex Flinn’s other fairy tale books, but I have yet to dive into any others yet. This one looks the most interesting of the three I own.

small leaves devider
17788401
Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

I bought this last summer and my cousin immediately borrowed it and read the entire book in one sitting. He LOVED it, but I still haven’t picked it up myself.  I’ve only read one other Colleen Hoover book but I remember being completely sucked into the writing and staying up most of the night to finish it.  It ended up containing one of my biggest book turn-offs, and although I’m sure not all of Colleen Hoover’s books feature that theme, it’s made me put off reading another.  The other main reason why I’ve been really hesitant to read this is because I’ve heard it’s a tearjerker, and I usually don’t reach for “feels” types of books.  I am curious about this one though, and I want to finally knock it off my TBR, so we’ll see if I get to it.
arrow divider

I’m participating in a readalong this month in preparation for the release of  A Gathering of Shadows on the 23rd.  This week I need to (re)read Parts 6-10.

A Darker Shade final for IreneA Darker Shade of Magic (A Darker Shade of Magic #1) by V.E. Schwab

Kell is one of the last Travelers—rare magicians who choose a parallel universe to visit.

Grey London is dirty, boring, lacks magic, ruled by mad King George. Red London is where life and magic are revered, and the Maresh Dynasty presides over a flourishing empire. White London is ruled by whoever has murdered their way to the throne. People fight to control magic, and the magic fights back, draining the city to its very bones. Once there was Black London—but no one speaks of that now.

Officially, Kell is the Red Traveler, personal ambassador and adopted Prince of Red London, carrying the monthly correspondences between royals of each London. Unofficially, Kell smuggles for those willing to pay for even a glimpse of a world they’ll never see. This dangerous hobby sets him up for accidental treason. Fleeing into Grey London, Kell runs afoul of Delilah Bard, a cut-purse with lofty aspirations. She robs him, saves him from a dangerous enemy, then forces him to another world for her ‘proper adventure’.

But perilous magic is afoot, and treachery lurks at every turn. To save all of the worlds, Kell and Lila will first need to stay alive—trickier than they hoped.

yellow grey divider flippedyellow grey divider

What are you reading plans for the weekend? 

Leave a Reply

