Library Lovers Book Tag

Library Lovers Book Tag

I was planning to do a discussion post today, but I decided I was in the mood for a tag instead.  The discussion will be up soon though, maybe even this weekend! I saw this tag on Arctic Books and knew immediately that I wanted to do it. I practically grew up at my local library, so libraries will always have a special place in my heart.

 1. How often do you visit your local library?

About once every other month. Definitely not as much as I used to now that I buy so many of my own books.  The Friends of the Library run a used bookstore in a little room outside of the library and I go there a lot more often.

2. Are you the type of person who checks out more books than you know you can read or are you someone who only checks out the exact amount of books you intend on reading before they are due?

A little of both! I always intend to read everything I check out, but I rarely get to them all.

3. How old were you when you got your first library card?

So young that I don’t even remember getting it.  Probably in Kindergarten when I learned to write my name.

4. Do you go to your library looking for a particular book or do you check out anything that peaks your interest?

Usually I’m looking for specific books, or I have an idea of what I want at least.  I tend to browse the same sections every time I go in: new cookbooks and other new non-fiction, and graphic novels/manga.  Sometimes I look through the new children’s books too to see if there are any good middle grade books that I want to check out for my students.  A lot of the time I just browse the online catalog at home and put the books on hold that I want. My local library shelves the reserved books on a separate shelf near the front door by the self-checkout, so I can get in and out quickly when I do this. It’s perfect for me because when the weather is nice, I like to walk my dog the two miles to the library and I’m able to tie her up outside while I run in quickly to grab my books.

5. Do you use your library to check out just books or do you also check out dvds, audiobooks etc.?

I get audiobooks from Overdrive through my library, but I never check out physical audiobooks.  I do get dvds every once and awhile but it’s more convenient for me to go to Redbox or use Netflix. My library even has Nooks available for checkout, and a ukelele!

6. From what section of your library do you check out a majority of your books? ( YA, middle grade, adult, nonfiction.)

I spend the most time in the Young Adult room, which is where all the graphic novels/manga and new YA books are housed.

7. What is your favorite part of using your local library?

I love the YA room.  The library was recently remodeled, and the YA room is in a separate room off one corner of the main library, with a door and floor to ceiling windows.  There are two big screen tvs on one wall, a huge dry erase board, and lots of comfortable seating.  I’m too old to spend time in there outside of picking out my books (and it’s always so loud anyway), but a lot of the local teenagers walk there after school to hang out in the room and play video games. The teacher in me is very happy to see them spending their afternoons in the library (even though they are playing video games) instead of out getting into trouble.

5 thoughts on “Library Lovers Book Tag

  1. Pingback: Stacking the Shelves #1 |

  2. I liked this tag, I think I should do more on my blog. I am also enjoying re-discovering my library this year. I never stopped going or anything I just never utilized it fully. This year I am only reading books I own, NO BUYING, so I have gotten to know my library a lot better. In fact I requested some books for them to purchase and they bought them ALL so that was cool! And now i can read them before adding them to the ‘buy’ list.

    Like

    • Wow you are a rockstar!! I don’t think I’d ever be able to go a year without buying books. Good for you! Libraries need more people with your willpower 🙂 My library has been really great about purchasing books I’ve requested lately too. That always helps with book buying bans!

      Liked by 1 person

      • It does! And Ive found a couple sources for borrowing audiobooks too! This way at the end of the year I can buy all the ones I enjoyed reading and save myself from spending money on a book I didnt like.

        Like

  3. Pingback: Library Lovers Book Tag | ED the Librarian

Leave a Reply

