Friday Reads

Friday Reads

I’m actively reading two books today, with plans to start an ebook this weekend as well.

arrow divider

I put this book down ages ago midway through, and I finally picked it back up again yesterday and got re-invested in the story.  Hopefully I can finish it soon.

19827903

The Girl With All the Gifts by M.R. Carey

Melanie is a very special girl. Dr Caldwell calls her “our little genius.”

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant Parks keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don’t like her. She jokes that she won’t bite, but they don’t laugh.

Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children’s cells. She tells her favorite teacher all the things she’ll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn’t know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad.

arrow divider

This one has terrible Goodreads reviews (at least from everyone I follow), but I absolutely loved the first episode of the new MTV series, and it made me really curious about the book. I’m almost at the 100 page point, and I’m still really enjoying it so far!

25430703

The Elfstones of Shannara by Terry Brooks

In the far future, unbeknown to humankind, an apocalyptic war is brewing. Fearsome, vengeful Demons rage at the boundaries of the world, held at bay by a spell called the Forbidding. But now that barrier is dying. Evil is beginning to break through. And only the Chosen can banish the Demons back to their realm.

Wil Ohmsford is a healer, not a fighter; a man of duty, not great deeds. But this epic battle seeks him out, for he holds the Elfstones: mysterious protective talismans passed down by his grandfather. Wil is recruited to act as guardian to the Elf girl Amberle, who must venture far to deliver a seed that will help the Forbidding to grow again. The fate of civilization rests upon her shoulders—and the completion of her mission rests upon Wil’s. Now, as the forces of darkness descend, Wil and Amberle embark on a perilous journey, placing their faith in each other to survive the bloodthirsty terrors that await.

arrow divider

I like to always be reading an ebook alongside my physical books, so I need to pick out another one to start this weekend as well.

It’s going to be one of these. I’m leaning towards Him, but I haven’t decided which I’m in the mood for yet…

 

yellow grey divider flippedyellow grey divider

What are you reading this weekend? 

2 thoughts on “Friday Reads

    • It’s taking me a long time to read it because the writing isn’t that easy to get through. I want to read at least half the book before I continue on with the series (I’ve only watched the first episode) so that’s motivating me to push through the book.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

