Review: Whitney Miller’s New Southern Table: My Favorite Family Recipes with a Modern Twist

REVIEW

 

Title: Whitney Miller’s New Southern Table: My Favorite Family Recipes with a Modern Twist
Author: Whitney Miller
Publisher:
 Thomas Nelson
Publication date: October 27, 2015
Genres: Cookbook, Non-Fiction
Source: BookLook Bloggers

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

MasterChef winner Whitney Miller shares her favorite family recipes with her own unique flair, making them lighter and infusing them with global flavors.

Following her great-grandmothers’ examples of creatively stretching meals during the Great Depression, Whitney Miller transforms recipes from her Southern roots, preserving flavors of traditional family dishes while offering the excitement of her own special touches. She offers a taste of her family table with dishes like Southern Horchata, PB&J Chicken Satay, Dehydrated Okra Chips, Sweet Corn Grit Tamales, Peach Bread Pudding with Sweet Tea Rum Sauce, and much more. Using new techniques and cooking methods, Miller reimagines classic recipes and experiments with flavors from around the world, inspired by her travels since winning MasterChef.

My Review

I love cooking and baking, so I was excited to see that this one was available for review from BookLook Bloggers.

I’ve never used a southern cookbook before, and I was afraid it would be full of the typical fatty southern food. There was some of that of course, but I was pleasantly surprised at the mix of healthier, vegetarian, and gluten-free options that were also included. Whitney’s cookbook includes a good balance of classic and modern recipes.  This book has a lot of what I like to call “accidental vegetarian” recipes. In fact, almost three-quarters of the book is meat-free, great for a vegetarian like me!

I can be picky about cookbooks. I’ve used a lot of them, so I know what works for me and what doesn’t. I like my cookbooks to have full-color photos for each of the recipes so I have a visual of what the recipe will look like when I cook it myself.  Whitney’s cookbook has beautiful full-page photos for most of the recipes, but not all of them.  I also prefer cookbooks that use common ingredients that aren’t difficult to find and are easy to use.  Whitney includes a list of basic southern pantry ingredients needed for these recipes right at the beginning of the book, and all are familiar ingredients that are available at any local grocery store.

I do wish that the recipes included nutritional information, like the calories, fat, and sugar contents.  The total prep time needed for each recipe also isn’t listed, which I think is necessary information.  Despite the many full-page photos included, there is a significant lack of process photos. That is why I usually prefer food blogs over cookbooks, because they often include step-by-step photos of the recipe making process, which is really important for home cooks (like me!) who don’t always know what they’re doing.

Here are some of the recipes I’m most excited to try:

  • Stuffed white squash dip with baked pita chips
  • Skillet corn
  • Pea pesto
  • Sriracha spread

 

 

My Rating

3 feathers

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Whitney Miller, winner at twenty-two of MasterChef , has been featured across the globe in Southern cuisine cooking promotions and as a judge in food competitions, including the 2013 World Food Championship. Her recipes and articles have appeared in People, Women’s Health, Masterchef, Clean Eating, and Cooking Light magazines, and her cooking demonstrations have been featured in the MasterChef app. She lives in Plant City, Florida.

 

yellow grey divider flippedyellow grey divider

I received this book from BookLook Bloggers in exchange for an honest review. 

2 thoughts on “Review: Whitney Miller’s New Southern Table: My Favorite Family Recipes with a Modern Twist

    • That definitely makes things difficult. One thing nice about living alone is that I can cook whatever I want. I’ve trained my family to be more adventurous with food too though, so they usually let me cook for them when I visit now!

      Like

Leave a Reply

