Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Resolutions for 2016

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a new topic is posted and bloggers are welcome to create their own lists. Ten is just a suggested number, the lists can be any length.

10 goals

I’ve already posted my 2016 goals here.  This list is a mash-up of those goals with added details, some additional goals I have, and a couple personal goals for the year. 

d546c49e2f0f93b66ed502a21eece010
1. Read more books that I already own

  • In 2015 I purchased way too many books
  • I own 260 unread books and I want to read more of those rather than constantly adding to my “owned TBR” shelf

 

Apple's Books
2. Complete all the reading challenges I signed up for:

  • Six Squared Reading Challenge
    • 6 New Releases (Debut Authors)
    • 6 New Releases (Loved Authors)
    • 6 Books to Start a Series
    • 6 Books to Complete a Series
    • 6 Book to Movie Adaptations
    • 6 Goodreads Choice Awards Winners or Nominees
  • Rock My TBR
    • Read minimum of one book every month that I already own
  • LGBTQIA
    • Read (and review!) books with LGBTQIA main characters
    • I’d like to read at least one per month
  • Finishing the Series
    • My goal is to reach Level 4 (Expert series reader) – Complete 7 or more series.
    • Write a 2 sentence (minimum) review for each book read
    • I have 17 series listed that I’d like to get to
  • eBook Reading Challenge
    • My goal is to reach Level: Megabytes – 25 ebooks
    • I currently own 11 ebooks that I want to read
    • That number will increase as I read eARCS throughout the year
  • Bookish Bingo
    • Dec-Feb
    • March-May
    • June-Aug
    • Sept-Nov

 

Emoji One's Notebook With Decorative Cover
3. Create a planner to keep track of all my reading and blogging commitments

 

Apple's Spiral Calendar Pad
4. Develop a blogging schedule and stick to it

  • I’m planning for M-F posting but we’ll see

 

Samsung's Open Book
Read 120 books 

  • Same goal as 2015

 

Twitter's Personal Computer
6. Start posting reviews regularly

  • One per week at least is my ultimate goal

 

Emoji One's Keyboard
7. Commenting 365 Challenge

  • 365 unique blogs
  • My original goal was to comment in 100 blogs, but I’ve decided to push myself and officially join the Commenting 365 ChallengeI will be using Nori‘s spreadsheet as well as adding on any additional blogs I comment on. Let me know if you’d like to be included!

 

Twitter's Speaking Head in Silhouette
8.Book Blog Discussion Challenge

  • As the name suggests, this challenge is to push myself to write more discussion posts
  • My goal level is 49+ Posts– Gift of the Gab
  • If I post one each week, I’ll meet this goal

 

Samsung's House Building
9. Buy a house

  • This is going to depend on how much I’m able to save by June

 

Emoji One's Weight Lifter + Emoji Modifier Fitzpatrick Type-1-2
10. Exercise regularly

  • 3-4 times per week
  • A new gym just opened up nearby so I’m planning to get a membership

yellow grey divider flippedyellow grey divider

What are your New Year’s Resolutions?

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Resolutions for 2016

  1. Aw, yay for getting/ looking at houses! That’s a huge milestone that I hope you’ll achieve in 2016 :). We have a lot of the same challenges! I signed up for several reading challenges just like you. I haven’t heard of the eBook challenge though but now that I have an eReader I’m interested and I’ll look into it!

    Like

    • Thank you!! It’s been a long time coming, so I hope it’ll happen this year 🙂

      I do all my eReading on my phone so I tend to forget about my eBooks. That’s why I thought a challenge would help me out with that. Good luck with all your challenges!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am so glad I’m not the only with the TBR shelf problem! I’ve committed this year to start reading what I’ve already purchased. Good luck with buying a new house! We went through that process last year and it really is daunting. But I’m sure you can do it!

    Like

  3. I love these goals! They’re not just lofty ideas – they’re all totally doable. I hope you have success with all of them! And I hope you get your house. It would be amazing to have somewhere to settle down and make your own. If you do get one, you’ll have to post pictures!

    Like

  4. These are great goals! My husband and I are planning to buy our first house this year too. Which is why I didn’t go crazy with reading challenges, I didn’t want the stress. It’s an exciting time!

    I wish you luck with all your goals! Happy 2016!

    My TTT

    Like

  5. I boughtmy 2nd house last summer…it sure can be stressful…let me know if you ever need to vent/ask questions…I totally get it. I actually forgot that I had signed up for the 365 Commenting Challenge…I better go get started on it!

    Like

    • Thank you so much! I haven’t done TOO much on the house front yet other than saving money and figuring out exactly what I’m looking for. My dad spends a lot of time researching the housing market here and emailing me links to zillow listings haha! It’s frustrating because it’s ridiculously expensive to live in my city compared to other towns in the area so it’s really hard to find something I can afford -__-
      Good luck with your 365 Challenge! Are you using Nori’s spreadsheet? That’s made things so much easier for me.

      Like

  6. I need to start exercising more regularly, especially because of my thyroid disease. I just find it so hard to find the time to actually do it. 😦

    I love the idea behind Nori’s challenge, but I didn’t actually make an attempt to do it because I comment so much already. I don’t know if I’ve ever hit 100 unique blogs, but that might be a goal that I’m going to steal from you!

    Happy New Year, Amber!

    Like

    • A Planet Fitness opened in the complex literally right next to my apartment, so I have no excuse any longer! I’m headed out to sign up now 🙂

      Nori has an awesome spreadsheet for keeping track of blogs and when she sent it out it already had almost 400 different blogs listed. That’s made it super easy for me. That’s what really made me change my original goal.

      Happy New Year to you too, Erin!

      Like

  7. The Six Squared Challenge looks great! I’m going to have to look into that one! The commenting on so many new blogs is a great idea! It helps you get to know more people!

    Good luck with all of your goals!
    Alexis

    Like

  8. Pingback: Why I Lowered my Goodreads Goal |

  9. Pingback: Let’s Talk: Why I Lowered my Goodreads Goal |

Leave a Reply

