TAG TUESDAY: Back to School Tag

Hiya! In an effort to get myself on a semi-regular posting schedule, I’m going to start completing some tags on Tuesdays.  I’ll probably alternate these with Top Ten Tuesdays, depending on which I like more that week. I see a lot of booktubers doing tag videos, and I want to join in by doing tags I like on my blog.  Because I’m a newer blogger, I also thought this would be a great way for me readers to get to know me better!

Yesterday was the first day back at school for the district where I work, so this tag is perfect for my first one.  The Back to School Tag was created by Jenny Unscripted on Youtube, but I originally saw it over on BooksandLala‘s channel.

Let’s get right into the questions:

English/Language Arts – Name your favorite author’s (or books) writing style

Meg Cabot! Meg is one of my favorite authors because I find her writing so relatable and funny. Definitely check out one of her books if you haven’t yet.

Math – A book that made you frustrated

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. I hate unreliable narrators, and this book has two of them! Every time I reach the point in a book when an unreliable narrator is revealed, I want to throw the book across the room!

Science – A book that really made you think or question things.

Hate List by Jennifer Brown. Hate List is about a school shooting, told from the POV of the shooter’s girlfriend.  It’s so interesting and powerful. I think it should be required reading for all secondary students.

Social Studies/History – Your favorite book from a different time period.

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. RPO takes place in 2044. The whole world has gone to hell, and everyone spends most of their day in a virtual world, the OASIS. I love this dystopian world so much. There are tons of video game and 80s references throughout.

Art – Your favorite book with pictures.

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. Everything, Everything follows teenager Madeline, who is allergic to the world. The book is full of illustrations, lists, graphs, diary entries, and handwritten notes that make it such an enjoyable and fun read.

Drama – A book you would love to see turned into a movie.

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. One of my favorite reads so far this year. The three trials would be so cool to see on screen.

Music/Band – Name a character you think (or know) would have the same musical taste as you.

I’m gonna go with Mel from Boy Band by Jacqueline E. Smith.

Lunch – A food from a book you would love to try.

Anything from the Harry Potter books! I’ve had chocolate frogs and Bertie Botts Every Flavor Beans but I’d love to try others.

Bus Ride Home – A book or author that is relaxing.

For this one, I’m choosing Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I love love love this book and relate to Cath so much.  It’s a comfort read for me!

Extra Credit – A book someone else told you to read and you ended up enjoying it.

My cousin read Something Real by Heather Demetrios this summer, and immediately handed it to me when he was finished and demanded I read it. I enjoyed it a lot and plan to check out more of her books in the future.

2 thoughts on “TAG TUESDAY: Back to School Tag

  1. The reasons that Gone Girl frustrated you are the same that made me love it! While it frustrated me a little and made me want to toss the book across the room, I was impressed with Flynn’s ability to trick me into trusting characters only to be duped MULTIPLE times. Good grief!

    I want to read Hate List. I haven’t heard of it before reading this post, but as a teacher, I should probably read the book because of its topic!

    I LOVED Ready Player One. I practically inhaled the book and I know that even though I just read it this month, a reread will be happening soon. I also thought Everything, Everything was adorable!

    Great post. I love the way tags tell us more about each other in an interesting way. I’ll be sure to tag you in an upcoming tag or two to keep you going! ❤

    Like

    • I think I just need to give up on unreliable narrator books! I keep giving them a chance, and end up so angry and hating the book. I usually need to like the narrator in order to enjoy the book, and that’s why I have an issue with feeling like I’ve been lied to by the narrator.

      Hate List was seriously so good! It’s definitely a tearjerker though. I’m a teacher too, and that’s what drew me to the topic and why it was so powerful for me.

      Thanks for your comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

