Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon: Updates

Hi friends! I’m using this post to keep track of all of my readathon updates from my social media accounts. My plan is to update every single hour! Newest posts are at the top 🙂

Hour 24: The Home Stretch!!!
6:00AM

 End of Event Meme:
1. Which hour was most daunting for you?

  • Definitely the second half of Hour 23 and Hour 24. I could barely stay awake!

2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?

  • I didn’t read any action packed page turners, but I saved my fluffiest contemporary read for last since it took minimal brain effort to read

3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?

  • Nope!

4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?

  • This was my first 24 hr readathon so I don’t have anything to compare it to. I really enjoyed how interactive it was, with the posts and challenges every hour.

5. How many books did you read?

  • 6 1/2 + 1 hour 13 minutes of an audiobook

6. What were the names of the books you read?

7. Which book did you enjoy most?

8. Which did you enjoy least?

  • Awaken by Katie Kacvinsky. I put it down to start Lola and only picked it back up at the end when I needed something to finish up the hour and didn’t want to start another book. I like it, but it’s very similar to another book I’ve already read.

9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders?

  • I wasn’t a cheerleader

10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?

  • I’ll definitely participate again! Probably in the same capacity I did this time, as a reader only.

 

The sun is up!!! It's just past 6am here. #readathon

A post shared by Amber (@bookstacksamber) on

 

Hour 23:
5:00AM

Share a Song challenge: Lola by The Kinks from Lola and the Boy Next Door

 

Hour 22:
4:00AM

Hour 22! It's 4am and I'm still chugging along! #readathon

A post shared by Amber (@bookstacksamber) on

 

Hour 21: 
3:00AM

middle of the night snack time #readathon

A post shared by Amber (@bookstacksamber) on

 

Hour 20: 
2:00AM

 

Hour 19: 
1:00AM

Shelfie challenge: I created a separate blog post for this one (original post)

I won a readathon prize this hour! Yay!!!

 

Hour 18: 
12:00AM

Starting to get a little sleepy, so I'm picking up my most anticipated read from my #readathon TBR pile!

A post shared by Amber (@bookstacksamber) on

Challenge: Best of My Reading Year

The challenge for the hour is to share some of your best from your reading year and why.  The idea is to pick at least 3 of the categories below and share your favorites and why.

Best Book of Your Reading Year: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

16096824

Absolutely, hands down! I know it’s only April, but I will be surprised it anything beats ACOTAR by the end of the year. I’m already planning a reread when my pre-order copy arrives in the mail, and it hasn’t even been a month since I read the ARC.  I loved everything about this. The story were all great, the slow build romance was awesome, the secondary characters were fantastic too! I can’t say enough positive things about this book!

Best LGBTQ+ Book of Your Reading Year: Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

12000020

This book was super hyped up in the book community so I wasn’t sure what to expect going into it, but it was FANTASTIC. This was the first book I ever felt the need to sticky tab.

Best YA Book of Your Reading Year: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

16068905

I purposely put off reading this book as long as possible. I knew I was going to absolutely love it and I wanted to save it for when I was really in the mindset to sit down and devote my full attention to devouring it all in one big chunk of time. Sooooo so so so good. I’ve never related to a main character more. One of my favorite contemporaries for sure, possibly one of my favorite books ever.

 

Hour 17: 
11:00PM

 

Goodreads Battle of the Books challenge entry

Music is Muse challenge (original post):
Whilst you’ve been reading I wonder if you’ve felt a particular musical connection to a book, or a character. I want to know what songs remind you of that character, or connect you to something you’ve read today.

  • For this hour’s mini challenge please tell me the name of the song, and the connection you feel to it.
  • Does it symbolise something in the book?
    • The line, “Rose garden filled with thorns”  will forever make me think of ACOTAR!
  • Are your emotions reflected in the music?
    • At times. A lot of the lyrics don’t necessarily relate to the book, but there are a few that always make me think of Tamlin and Feyre’s relationship 🙂

 

Hour 16: 
10:00PM

Get Fit and Read challenge (original post):

Another challenge (original post):

 

Hour 15: 
9:00PM

No #readathon is complete without pizza!! 😍🍕📚🍕📚😍

A post shared by Amber (@bookstacksamber) on

Another challenge (original post):

Ordered pizza an hour earlier than planned because I’m starting to get sleepy and needed a pick me up!

Giving my tired eyes a break while I run out to grab a pizza 🍕📚 #readathon

A post shared by Amber (@bookstacksamber) on

 

Hour 14:
8:00PM

Really struggling with my current read so I'm taking a break for some graphic novel time #readathon

A post shared by Amber (@bookstacksamber) on

 

Hour 13: 
7:00PM

I didn’t take any pictures this hour, but I read 64 pages of Awaken and spent some time interacting with other readers on Instagram and Twitter.

Hour 12:
6:00PM

Mid-Event Survey:
1. What are you reading right now?

2. How many books have you read so far?

3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon?

  • Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins. I’ve been saving it for a fluffy read when I start to drag later on.

4. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those?

  • Only self-created ones! I went to a coffee shop during Hours 3-4 for breakfast and a change of scenery. It was hard to focus because of all the noise. Concert tickets I wanted to buy went on sale at Hour 4 so I wasted 30 minutes getting those before they sold out.
  • I’ve been updating social media every hour and that’s been distracting me for about 15 minutes of every hour, but I think it’s probably good that I’ve been using that time as little reading breaks.

5. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far?

  • I’m really surprised that I’m not tired of reading yet. I usually can barely finish one book in a sitting because I’m constantly thinking of other things I could be doing instead (usually internet distractions).  I think it’s helped that I hyped myself up for this so much and purposely set aside the entire day to do nothing else but read, so I don’t feel like I’m procrastinating other things.

 

Hour 11:
5:00PM

Took a break for some more challenges this hour.
Name 3 books that you believe will be well-loved classics in the year 2010. Tell why those are the books you think will stay in the hearts and minds of book lovers forever. Original post

Screen Shot 2015-04-25 at 5.33.21 PM

I also completed the On Food and Books challenge here.

 

Hour 10: 
4:00PM

 

Hour 9:
3:00PM

 

Hour 8: 
2:00PM

 

Hour 7: 
1:00PM

Took a little break to do a mini challenge this hour.  Original post

 

Hour 6: 
12:00PM

 

Hour 5:

11:00AM

 

Hour 4:
10:00AM

 

Hour 3: 
9:00AM

starting book number two! #readathon

A post shared by Amber (@bookstacksamber) on

 

Hour 2:
8:00AM

This day is going to be full of puppy cuddles #readathon

A post shared by Amber (@bookstacksamber) on

 

Hour 1:
7:00AM

Hour 1 complete! #readathon Halfway done with my first book already. I read 112 pages.

A post shared by Amber (@bookstacksamber) on

 

Here we go! I'm starting out with We Were Liars. #readathon

A post shared by Amber (@bookstacksamber) on

 

Pre-Readathon Updates:

6 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon: Updates

  1. Pingback: Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon: Goals and TBR |

Leave a Reply

