Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon: April 25, 2015

dewey

I’m so so excited to announce that I will be participating in Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon for this first time tomorrow.  If you’re unfamiliar with this readathon, it’s unique from other readathons because rather than starting at midnight, everyone begins at the exact same time and reads together throughout the day.  I’ll be beginning at 7am on Saturday. The Dewey’s website has helpfully posted a list of all the start times by time zone.

I’ve never participated in a 24 hour readathon before, so I really have no idea what to expect.  I’m planning to stay up for the entire 24 hours, but I can’t drink caffeine anymore, so I don’t know if it’ll be possible.  But I have to try!  I’ve been planning all week for this, and I have a lot of ideas and things (and places to go!) that I hope will keep me motivated and help me stay awake. I’m not sure to what extent I’ll be participating in challenges and chatting with people. I really want to focus most of my time on reading to avoid internet distractions. But if I feel like I need to break up my day, I may end up interacting more than I planned.

The most important thing that you’re probably wondering is, what am I going to read??  For readathons, I always pick out a much bigger stack of books that I’ll be capable of completing. I’m a huge mood reader so I like to have a lot of different book options to choose from. For this readathon, I also have some ebooks and audiobooks in case I need to change things up. I’ve picked a lot of short books so that I can fly through as many as possible.

IMG_3705

Physical books:

Screen Shot 2015-04-24 at 12.35.14 PM

ebooks: 

Screen Shot 2015-04-24 at 12.41.42 PM

Audiobooks:

Like I said, obviously I don’t plan to get through all of these! These are just the options I’ve set aside.  Realistically, I’d like to read 4-5 books throughout the day, but I’ll be happy as long as I spend most of the day reading.  As far as updating throughout the day, I haven’t really decided what I’m going to do.  I’m not sure what other people do to update.  I might try my hand at Storify thanks to this post on the Readathon blog. I think I’ll update on Instagram every hour, so that’ll be the best place to follow me for frequent updates!

Are you participating? How do you usually update throughout the day? Feel free to link me to where you’ll be updating if you are!! Happy reading 🙂

7 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon: April 25, 2015

  1. If you can’t drink caffeine, have you got some juice of some description to get you through the night? I DO drink caffeine, but I have IBS and my stomach gets really cross with me if I feed it coffee at 3am, so I have a big carton of juice chilling in the fridge ready for night-time readathonning. Red grape, or apple and ginger maybe. Works for me! Cold, refreshing and with that little sweetness that helps when you’re tired. And you never need as much food/drink as you think during the night anyway, for some reason. 🙂

    I love your book choices too, such a good mix of stuff to keep things going! LESS THAN EIGHTEEN HOURS AND COUNTING! GOOD LUCK!

    Like

    • I usually only drink water so I haven’t even thought about drinks! I’m heading to the grocery store after work to pick up some snacks, and juice is an awesome idea. I wish I had time to juice things myself but that would take way too much time if I did that. I’ll see what I can find at the store. Thank you!

      Good luck to you too!!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon: Goals and TBR |

Leave a Reply

